2019 CIRTL Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching

Monday, June 17, 2019

12:00pm EDT | 11:00am CDT | 10:00am MDT | 9:00am PDT

Overview

The CIRTL Online Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching is a collaborative effort between the  Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL) and the Summer Institutes on Scientific Teaching.  It is designed specifically for grad students and postdocs new to teaching. In this five-day institute, participants will experience a thorough introduction to the core ideas that ground CIRTL's approach to STEM education: learning-through-diversity, learning communities, evidence-based teaching, and teaching-as-research. By examining relevant literature, working online in small peer groups facilitated by topical experts, and performing structured work independently; participants will develop a deep understanding of scientific teaching.

 

Throughout the week, participants will design an evidence-based, inclusive teaching activity. Each day will be split between independent work, large group 

activities and lessons, and small group work. On the final day of the program, participants will present their teaching activities to the entire group. By the end of the institute, participants will have observed, evaluated, and collected a portfolio of innovative teaching approaches, instructional materials and practical strategies for enhancing student learning that can be adapted to their own teaching environments. Participants who successfully complete the CIRTL Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching will be named Scientific Teaching Fellows by the Summer Institutes on Scientific Teaching. Finally, participants will be familiar with CIRTL's associate-level learning outcomes, making them excellent candidates for achieving associate certification (note that certification is determined on a local level by each individual member institution).

Institute Schedule

 

The institute will take place June 17-21. Throughout the institute, participants will enjoy a mix of synchronous, online activities and asynchronous, individual work. Each day will include online sessions from roughly 12-5PM ET / 11AM-4PM CT / 10AM -3PM MT / 9AM-2PM PT; outside of those times, participants will be expected to do anywhere from 2 to 2.5 hours of individual work per day.

 

Note a second session may be scheduled for July, if there is demand.

 

Registration & Enrollment

This institute is limited to 36 participants.

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

 

  • Describe and recognize the value of realistic well-defined, achievable, measurable and student-centered learning goals.

  • Describe several known high-impact, evidence-based effective instructional practices and materials and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

  • Describe several assessment techniques and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

 

Associate: Learning Community

 

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning.

  • Describe several techniques for creating a LC within a learning environment,

including strategies that promote positive interdependence between learners so as to accomplish learning goals.

  • Describe several techniques and issues of establishing LCs comprising a diverse group of learners.

  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

 

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

 

  • Describe the scope of diversity in learning environments, of both students and instructor. (*Including but not limited to backgrounds, race, gender, ability, socio-economic status, ethnicity, gender preference, and cognitive skills)

  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.

  • Describe how an instructor’s beliefs and biases can influence student learning.

  • Describe and recognize the value of drawing on diversity in the development of teaching plans (including content, teaching practices and assessments) to foster learning.

  • Describe several learning-through-diversity (LtD) techniques and strategies.

 

Associate: Teaching-as-Research

 

  • Describe how to access the literature and existing knowledge about teaching and learning issues, in a discipline or more broadly.

  • Define and recognize the value of the Teaching-as-Research process, and how it can be used for ongoing enhancement of learning.

  • Describe a "full-inquiry" cycle.

  • Describe how the integration of Evidence-Based Teaching, Learning Communities and Learning-through-Diversity within Teaching-as-Research can be integrated to implement and advance effective teaching practices for diverse learners.

Event Details

Event type
Teaching Institute


Event level
Associate


Registration Open Date
TBA


Registration Close Date
TBA


Target audiences
Graduate Student
Postdoctoral Researcher

 

If you have any questions about the CIRTL Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching please contact Dr. Bill Wischusen (gcsi@lsu.edu), Associate Professor of Biological Sciences at Louisiana State University

Due to the COVID-19 out-break, the Regional Summer Institutes on Scientific Teaching will be postponed to the summer of 2021. The good news is that we will be able to offer an online SI, as we have in the past, led by Bill Wischusen. Keep your eye on the newsletter or the website as we will be looking for ways to engage the community virtually.

Copyright © 2020. Yale Poorvu Center for Teaching and Learning.
All rights reserved. 301 York Street, New Haven, CT 06520.

Questions? Contact us at summer.institutes@yale.edu

WCAG2AA-v.svg.png